Skip to content

Rule of the Week – Calling a Strip

With the 11th edition, a strip changed a bit in the rules; namely that it’s now considered a foul. What this means to the average player is that you can contest a strip; however, where you are on the field will help determine what happens when a strip is called. First, let’s take a look at the actual rule from the 11th Edition rules website (

  1. Fouls (II.E): It is the responsibility of all players to avoid contact in every way possible.
    4. Strip: If a defensive player initiates contact with the disc after an offensive player has gained possession of the disc, and the offensive player loses possession as a result, it is a strip. A strip is a subset of fouls and is treated the same way

There are 2 situations in which a strip will be called:

  1. In the endzone – If the offensive player calls a strip in the endzone, then they are saying that they caught the disc, but due to contact from the defender, they dropped the disc. When this happens, if the defender says “no contest” then it’s a point. However, if the defender says “contest” then the disc goes back to the thrower. As the offensive player, you want to call a strip ONLY if you had possession before you were fouled by the defender. If you didn’t have possession but were fouled, then you can call a foul. As the defender, if someone calls a strip against you, consider if they actually had possession. If they did indeed have possession but you fouling them caused them to drop it, don’t contest their call and concede the point. That’s what having good spirit is all about. BUT, if you don’t think they had possession, by all means contest their call and send the disc back to the thrower.
  2. Not in the endzone – This is similar to above except that if you don’t contest a strip call, then the offensive player simply gains possession at the spot of the foul.

Realize that the defender can call a strip as well, but if both players catch the disc at the same time, the player on offense retains possession.

As with all calls in ultimate, if the other person makes a legitimate call, don’t contest it. The spirit of the game says that you should respect the rules and respect your opponents so keep that in mind when a strip call is made.

8 thoughts on “Rule of the Week – Calling a Strip”

  1. What if, as the defender, you didn't think they had possession before you fouled them, but you agree that you DID foul them. It should end up on the goal line then and not back to the thrower right?

    I guess maybe you should inform the offensive player that you won't contest a foul call but will contest a strip call.

  2. Great question Marc.

    Since it's a matter of perspective between you and the other player about whether or not they had possession. Since you can't agree, but you agree that you fouled them, it would end up on the line. That's a better argument since it's not clear who is ever “right”.

    For example, in tennis, there is a camera that shows whether or not the ball was in or out. However, since we don't have that luxury in ultimate, then the right call will be whatever the player on offense and the player on defense decide is the right call. I find too many times that just because someone is more vocal and aggressive, that they call they made will stand up since the other person gets intimidated. As much as we should encourage this to not intimidate us, we also should encourage both players to have a discussion about what happened.

  3. if the marker blocks the disc while the thrower is trying to throw, but the thrower does not lose possession of the disc… maybe they realize the disc is going to be blocked… is that considered a strip? or is there a foul there?

  4. Dan, it's a foul but only if the thrower calls it. It's not a foul if the marker is stationary and the thrower hits the marker with the disc while it's still in their hand.

  5. If a defender follows their man past the thrower, and at that moment the thrower reaches out to make a throw and accidentally hits the passing defender, and then drops the disk, is this a strip, a foul, or a turnover?

  6. What if you solidly catch the disc in the air, and in landing your arm/hand/disc hits the defender who is down below you and you drop the disc – essentially you kind of land on top them causing them to strip the disc. ie. an unintentional strip – is this still a strip/foul?

    1. For it to be a strip, which is a subset of a foul, the opponent must have had a role in initiating the contact with the receiver to cause the disc to be dropped.

      What you have described seems to be covered by rule 12.1.1:
      “If the player fails to maintain the catch due to subsequent ground contact related to the catch, or contact related to the catch with a team-mate or a legitimately positioned opposition player, possession is deemed to have not occurred.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *